Welcome to Little Barford Power Station

Gas fired

Visit Little Barford Power Station to find out more about npower's electricity generation, commitment to renewable energy and how great care is taken in minimising the impact of the power station on the local community.

Little Barford Power Station is one of our Combined Cycle Gas Turbine (CCGT) stations, powered by natural gas. Little Barford has two gas turbines, each similar in principle to a jet engine and each powering a generator; two heat recovery steam generators; and one steam turbine linked to another generator. The station runs twenty-four hours a day, seven days a week.

Opening Times:
Due to operational requirements, Site Visits are limited in number and fully booked until at least July 2014.

You are welcome to order our free Climate Cops teaching resources which focus on energy for 4-7, 7-11 or 11-14 year olds, or please check our Power Station Visits page to see if you are able to travel to another one of our power stations.

Admission Charge:

Suitable for:
Year 7 students (11-12 year olds) and upwards (a ratio of 1 adult to 10 students is required). Key Stage 2 pupils can be catered for following discussions with the Power Station Visits Co-ordinator (a ratio of 1 adult to 5 pupils is required).

Tours will normally be restricted to a maximum of 20 people at any one time (unless by specific arrangement).

Group Tours will be catered for on an individual basis and should include a guided walk around the Power Station and a visit to the main Control Room.

Contents of Tour:
The visit begins with an introductory talk and dvd which is followed by a tour around the power station, ending in the station's control room.

As part of our commitment to safety, Personal protective equipment will be provided and must be worn during the site tour.

Image of Little Barford power station.

Contact details
Power Station
Visits Co-ordinator
RWE Generation UK
Little Barford Power Station
Little Barford
St Neots
PE19 6YT

01234 372011

01234 372039

Business in the community award 2007.